The federal congressional delegation from Tennessee will look very similar to how it looks now when members of the 118th Congress are sworn in on January 20, 2023.

But for a redrawn district – Tennessee’s 5th Congressional District – all of the incumbent members of Congress in Tennessee won their respective races Tuesday night.

“Thank you to all of our volunteers and supporters whose hard work and prayers led us to a commanding victory winning with nearly 80 of the vote! The Red Wave is here!” Representative Diana Harshbarger (R-TN-01) said on Twitter after winning her race against challenger Cameron Parsons.

Rep. Tim Burchett (R-TN-02) won re-election in a landslide, too, by a margin of 35 points.

“I just want to thank everybody for the big win last night,” he said Wednesday morning. “We’ve got a lot of uncertainties out there [and] we’ve got a lot of work to do. I want to thank my opponent Mark Harmon for running a very good campaign, and his supporters, I appreciate all of them. I look forward to working with all of y’all in the near future, and thank you all sending me here.”

Rep. Chuck Fleischmann (R-TN-03) won by a margin of 38 points Tuesday night.

“I want to thank all the voters in Tennessee’s 3rd district for your continued support,” he said. “I’m honored to serve you and look forward to continuing to fight for our Tennessee conservative values in Washington.”

Rep. Scott DesJarlais (R-TN-04) won by a margin of 45 points.

I am grateful to have the honor to represent the hard working people of #TN04. In the new Congress I will work to reverse Biden’s harmful policies that have wreaked havoc on our economy, left our borders open and overrun, and failed to protect our national security,” he said in a tweet after his race was called. 

In Tennessee’s 6th Congressional District, Rep. John Rose (R-TN-06) emerged victorious by a wide margin.

“Serving the people of Tennessee in the United States Congress is the honor of a lifetime,” Rose said in a Tuesday night statement. “My family and I are thankful for the support our community has shown us through my campaign for re-election, and I am beyond grateful that the people of Tennessee’s Sixth District placed their confidence in me to continue fighting hard for our Tennessee conservative values in Washington.”

Rep. Mark Green, M.D., (R-TN-07) won his race by 22 points.

“Thank you, TN-7! I will be working on behalf of all the constituents of Tennessee’s 7th district – whether you voted for me or not. I will fight for policies to empower every Tennessean to pursue their American dream,” he said on Twitter.

Rep. David Kustoff (R-TN-08) came away with a convincing victory, winning more than 70 percent of the vote.

“Roberta and I are extremely grateful for the support and friendship across the 8th District of Tennessee. It is our greatest honor to serve this great state we all call home. Thank you for your trust in us,” he said in a tweet.

The lone Democrat to win re-election was Memphis-area Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN-09), who won by a margin of 44 points.

Tennessee’s 5th Congressional District was newly drawn, and incumbent Rep. Jim Cooper (D-TN-05) did not run for re-election.

Former Maury County Mayor Andy Ogles breezed to victory in that race.

Neither U.S. senator from Tennessee was up for re-election in 2022.

– – –

Pete D’Abrosca is a reporter at The Tennessee Star and The Star News Network. Follow Pete on Twitter. Email tips to [email protected].
Photo “Diana Harshbarger” by Diana Harshbarger.